The first electric lights were introduced to Carleton Place in 1885.
This small orange notebook labelled "Memo, Electric Light Co., List of Users, etc. etc, and Notes "by the way"" was kept by W.A. Braedon. On the first page he has written: "Memo of parties using the Electric Light and date when they got the Light in Carleton Place". His list begins September 28th, 1885.
Homeowners were charged by the number of bulbs and the number of hours the bulb was turned on.
Old Home Week Souvenir Programme
This booklet, measuring 23x15cm, was created for the Centenary Celebration and Old Home Week of Carleton Place from August 3rd to August 9th, 1924. Although the town had settled in 1819, there were months of planning and preparation for the return of the town’s young and old boys and girls from distant and nearby points. The week began with the ringing of church bells and the sounding of the whistles or bells of the railway shops, of Findlay Brothers foundry and of the Bates & Innes and Hawthorne woollen mills.
The Carleton Place and Beckwith Heritage Museum loves this Souvenir Programme! It provides us with timeless images of Carleton Place, past Mayors from 1890-1924 and numerous old advertisements for local businesses. It also describes some of the events during that week 90 years ago: such as Decoration Day, baseball games, a Merry-Go-Round, Dog and Pony Shows, street dancing, Fancy Shooting at the Gun Club, and countless more activities.
As the 200th anniversary of the settlement of Carleton Place creeps up on us in 2019, it makes us wonder what our celebrations might look like!